International Snapshot

MAY 2020

Fellow International Christian Educator, 

There is no need to mention the difficulties of these days to youIt seems we are living the words of Job 5:7, Yet man is born to trouble as surely as sparks fly upward. And then I rememberall the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand—when I awake, I am still with you. (Psalm 139:16b–18.) Yes, trouble is with us like sparks flying upward, but we should not forget that our days are known and that God’s thoughts toward us are precious and vast. His care over us means we can sleep and KNOW that he will be with us when we awake (see also Psalm 121:3–4) 

Dear educator, keep on keeping on. Fulfill your promise as leader, teacher and your calling as God’s precious servants 

It was such a pleasure to zoom-meet with School Heads recently in the four continental regions (Europe, Africa, Latin America, and Asia) and we look forward to doing it again. It was a joy to hear everyone’s story and to walk with you on the journey.   

apologize for the length of this newsletter – there are just so many helpful articlestips, and offers coming out right now making it hard not to share them all with youPlease skim through the list and click on the ones that seem most helpful to you.   

Let us know if there is anything we can do to help.  

Tim Shuman for the International School Team 

Follow on Twitter: @tpshuman @acsiglobal @acsiusa @acsilegalLegl 

Tim Shuman, Regional Director, International Schools 
Tim Thompson, Assoc Regional Director 
Anne Jones, Exec Assistant to Tim S 
Kimberly Park, Exec Assistant to Tim T 

EVENTS  

  • Be sure check out each ACSI webinar (averaging two a week) either live or recorded. Visit the Coronavirus Resource page to see upcoming and previous webinars. Joining live also means you can join the live chat room after the webinar with other international participants.  
  • You can also listen into the weekly Q&A with Dr. Taylor, ACSI President, and the weekly update from US Legal Legislative 
  • Heads of School (or your designee), please consider attending the International School Head Zoom Conversations for your region. Yes, I realize one of these meetings will have already occurred by the time you read this. Look for your invitation/reminder email.  
    • Europe: Monday 4 May, 07:00 (MST), 15:00 (CET) 
    • Africa: Tuesday 5 May, 07:00 (MST), 13:00 Dakar, 16:00 Nairobi 
    • Latin America: Wednesday 6 May, 09:00 (MST), 0900 Guatemala, 10:00 Quito, 12:00 Sao Paulo 
    • Asia North Group: (China with Hong Kong & Taiwan, So Korea, Japan, Bangladesh and India): Thursday 7 May 18:00 (MST), Friday, 8 May 07:00 Indonesia, 08:00 China, 09:00 Japan & So Korea 
    • Asia South Group: (Thailand, Malaysia, Cambodia, Indonesia, Philippines, Marianas, etc.) Thursday 7 May 19:15 (MST), Friday, 8 May 08:15 Indonesia, 09:15 China, 10:15 Japan & So Korea 
  • PreField Orientation 2020. We are working toward an online delivery of some content to all who can use it. Stay tuned for more information.  
  • The International School Job Fair is tentatively scheduled for 5–13 November 2020—it has become challenging to nail down dates due to COVID impact on our college partners 
  • ICEC Africa in Rwanda 28–31 March 2021.  
  • International School Leaders Conference 25–27 April 2021.  
  • Save the date: ICEC Asia, 24–27 November 2021. Details to be confirmed.  

RESOURCES & IDEAS 

ACSI Developed Resources 

Great coronavirus school community samples  

  • Kiev Christian Academy KCA Online.  
  • Send me your community page if you have one. 

Resources 

Other Helpful Odds and Ends 

And books, if you have time… 

  • Where is God in a Coronavirus World? John C. Lennox, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxfordhas been part of numerous public debates defending the Christian faith against well-known atheists including Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens and Peter Singer. 
  • Coronavirus and Christ. Pastor John Piper invites readers to stand on the solid Rock, who is Jesus Christ. Piper offers six biblical answers to the question what is God doing through the coronavirus?  
  • Confronting ChristianityRebecca McLaughlin, PhD Cambridge University, engages 12 of the hardest objections to ChristianityIf you’d rather watch an interview with Dr. McLaughlin talking about her book visit this link, or you can hear Dr. John Dickson interview her on his Undeceptions podcast 

HEAD of SCHOOL OPENINGS 

Send me your head of school openings for inclusion here. 

Normally, I would not post this position, but it’s unique 

  • Taejon Christian International School, Daejeon, South Korea is seeking dorm staff that also possess a valid and current teacher license. Learn more here