Student Activities

STEM Competitions and Webinars

ACSI Home / Academic Support Programs / Student Activities Events / STEM Competitions and Webinars

NEW! ACSI Student Activities is partnering with Grand Canyon University to provide STEM competitions for students in grades 6-12 at Christian schools across the United States and internationally, and hope that your school will seriously consider being a part of these groundbreaking events during the 2021-22 school year! We understand that some schools already have extensive STEM programs, while for others, an event like this would be completely new. No matter what your experience, our teams are here to help and guide you through the competition process.

The staff and faculty of Grand Canyon University have graciously offered to do a series of FREE webinars for ACSI member schools over the course of this school year to help you prepare for the competitions in 2021-22.

The “STEM101” and “Building STEM Focused Lessons” webinars will walk you through setting up STEM curriculum in your schools and provide you integration with standards-based content. The “STEM Competitions” webinar is designed to prepare your school for the ACSI competition events in 2021-22. (See full descriptions below.) Live Q&A sessions are also available throughout the spring. Attend one or more of these sessions to get your questions answered and receive tips and tricks about how to embed STEM into your school culture by participating in the 2022 ACSI/GCU STEM Competition.

To sign up for these FREE webinars, submit the online registration form(s) linked below. Additional information, including the direct links to the webinars, will be emailed to all registrants before each meeting date.

Live Q&A Sessions: 2021-22 STEM Competitions

Join ACSI and Grand Canyon University staff members for a time of Q&A about the 2021-22 STEM Competitions. Ask questions about categories of competition, best practices for how to prepare your students, competition timelines, and more! 

  • March 31, 2021: 11:00am-12:00pm PST (12-1pm MST, 1-2pm CST, 2-3pm EST) | REGISTER
  • April 21, 2021: 3:00-4:00pm PST (4-5pm MST, 5-6pm CST, 6-7pm EST) | REGISTER
  • May 4, 2021: 1:00-2:00pm PST (2-3pm MST, 3-4pm CST, 4-5pm EST) | REGISTER

STEM 101

STEM Competitions

Competitions provide a structure for teachers and students getting started with STEM and also serve as a skill-building opportunity. Inspire your students to think critically and work collaboratively to strengthen social skills and provide a low-pressure experience to engage in authentic science and engineering practices. Learn about several types of competitions available for your students. Identify strategies to teach scientific reading and writing skills and use a template to plan an implementation schedule based on your choice of competition. | Watch Recording

    Building STEM Focused Lessons

    STEM-focused lessons not only support the instruction of standards-based content, but they also facilitate the integration of critical thinking, creativity, collaboration, and communication. In this course, you will refine a STEM lesson by identifying its structure, evaluate lessons for required STEM components, and explore math, science, ELA, and social science connections. Using an interactive STEM lesson planning tool, you will create your own STEM-focused lesson plan. | Watch Recording

     

    To engage with other Christian STEM educators, introduce yourself and join the STEM Collaboration group in the ACSI Community online!

    STEM Collaboration

    For additional information, please contact a Student Activities team member.